How can online collaboration benefit your organization?

Shared understanding and online collaboration has many positive effects on your business. It helps you increase productivity, save time and budget. With StoriesOnBoard you can share your information real-time and invite others easily.
Read on and find the most suitable sharing option that fits to your needs.

I would like to create a new story map and invite other collaborators:

In StoriesOnBoard you can share and invite (based on your invitation permissions) the story map during the creation by selecting the Story maps menu from the left side panel then by choosing the Add a new story map menu.

As a first step you need to provide the basic details of the new story map and then on the Collaborators and visibility tab you have the opportunity to Add workspace member, Invite new users or Copy users from another story map:

Adding workspace members:

You can add the existing team members to the new story map by selecting a team member or even multiple team members from the dropdown menu in the Selected workspace member(s) field and set the required role in the Role for selected member(s) dropdown menu (Viewer, Editor, Admin). As a final step select the Finish button and you can start the online collaboration.

Invite new users:

You can invite new users to the story map at the Invite new users by email field below, by typing in the email address. If you wish to add multiple users use a comma (,) to separate them.
In the Role for invited users field, you can select a new role for the invited users (You can change the user role at any time).
Workspace Members with an Admin role on the story map can also invite others if Can invite members and/or Can invite observers permission is granted by the Workspace Admins. This permission is available for Workspace Admins in the Dashboard › Manage users › Invitation permissions menu.

Copy users from another story map:

With the Copy users from another story map feature, you can add team members from a different story map, where you are also a collaborator. When you select this menu, a pop-up message will be displayed and by typing into the field or by using the triangle icon next to the field of the Select a story map to copy collaborators from menu. You can select the user(s) by checking/unchecking the box next to their name. Next, select the Add selected collaborators button and then select the Finish button.

Note: If the selected team member is an Observer in the workspace, you can only assign the Viewer role in the Story map. You can learn more about managing and changing user roles from this article.

Removing or canceling invitation:


Workspace Admins and Story map Admins can always remove collaborators or cancel the invitation by selecting the X mark on the tile of the respective user at the Dashboard › Manage users › Actions (...) menu.

Resending invitation:


Workspace Admins and Story map Admins can resend the invitation at Dashboard › Manage users › Resend invitation icon.

I would like to add or invite others to an existing story map:


Story map Admins can share and/or invite others to an existing story map directly by selecting the Share button from the top navigation bar. In the Collaborators menu you select Add new workspace members or Invite new users menu.

Adding workspace members: Based on your invitation permissions you can select the desired team member from the dropdown list in the Add workspace member field, and set the role from the dropdown menu in the next field (Viewer, Editor, Admin). Then you need to select the Add button to confirm the process.

Invite new people: If you have the permission to invite new users to the story map, you can select the Invite new users by email field below, by typing in the email address. If you wish to add multiple users use a comma (,) to separate them.
You can select the desired user role from the dropdown menu in the next field (Viewer, Editor, Admin)

More sharing options: Workspace Admins and Story map Adminscanselect the visibility (Please see the detailed information at More sharing options section in this article) and share the story map via Private link Sharing.

I want to share and/or invite others directly from the dashboard:

It is possible to share and invite other collaborators from the dashboard.
Story map Adminsneed to select Manage workspace › Manage Story maps › … › Edit › Collaborators. Inside Collaborators menu the following options are available: Add a workspace member, Invite new users or Copy users from an other story map.

Adding workspace members:


Story map Admins can add the existing workspace members to the new story map by selecting a team member or even multiple team members from the dropdown menu in the Selected workspace member(s) field and set the required role in the Role for selected member(s) dropdown menu (Viewer, Editor, Admin). As a final step select the Finish button and you can start the online collaboration.

Invite new users:


Story map Admins can invite new users to the story map at the Invite new users by email field, by typing in the email address. If you wish to add multiple users use a comma (,) to separate them.
In the Role for invited users field you can select a new role for the invited users. (You can change the user role at any time.)

Copy users from another story map:


With the Copy users from story map feature Story map Admins can add team members from a different story map, where they are also collaborators. When you select this menu, a pop-up message will be displayed where you can choose the Select a story map to copy collaborators from the dropdown menu by typing into the field or by using the triangle icon next to the field. You can select the user(s) by checking/unchecking the box next to their name then select the Add selected collaborators button and then select the Finish button.

What is Private link sharing?


It is also possible to share the map via a Private link. This feature allows team members (Workspace Admins, Admins) to share a story map with a link and send it to other trusted contacts. Anyone who has the link can access the information and can view the map in read-only mode. No sign-in required, but the recipient of the link can always signup and create a new user account to improve the collaboration at any time. Please check this article to learn more about how to enable and disable the Private link sharing. If Commenting and discussion over private link access is enabled, the unauthenticated collaborators can also place their comments to the cards. This feature is available from the Standard plan and above.

How does the invitation link work?


Workspace Admins and Story map Admins can invite others by sending an invitation link directly to them. By copying and sending this link to others, you do not need to wait for the invitation email as the link will immediately redirect the recipient to a quick signup process. After they sign up the story map will be visible and depending on the given permissions it will be editable or read-only.

More sharing options

Under the More sharing options Workspace Admins and Admins can further customize the story map visibility settings. The visibility setting offers the following three choices:

  • Private: the story map can be accessed only by the collaborators of the story map.

  • Workspace visible: the story map is available to view for every workspace member, but only users with editor role can make changes on it. Please note, if you create a new story map the default setting will be workspace visible, but you can change it any time. On a Workspace visible story map, there is a checkbox to enable comments for everyone in the workspace.

  • Public: everyone who has the URL of the story map can view it without signing in to StoriesOnBoard.

Did this answer your question?